IMG_1376

you sat next to me

me and you

less than arm’s length away

I, I felt like you and I

were planets away

light years from each other

Do you love me, you said

i said yes

quickly

like sun burning skin in summer

your broken smile said

you are lying

we sat there

like two distant lovers

your hands reached for mines

my fingers crawled lazily to yours

how strange it felt

lonely am i

my tears, the coldness of your hands

sliced the silence of that night

my dear, what is wrong, you say

i turned away

to feel hunger rip through my body

to only respond

because my dear you are a distant stranger

not a lover

Leave a Reply

